Circa the 1870's, Kinnear's Mills is the natural center of a municipality totaling close to 1800 inhabitants and covers all of Leeds Township. Over and above Kinnear's Mills, the village includes many blacksmiths, shoemakers, carpenters and stone cutters, a general store, a post office, a doctor and a residing minister. In 1901, there is even three stores, a hotel and a cheese factory.
But the peopling of the area is already taking different directions. In the east and south, the Broughton an Thetford townships rapidly develop. Soon they will experience a demographic explosion due to the first workings of the mines af the end of the 19th century and accentuated by the railroad arrival.
Kinnear's Mills sees its rural vocation confirmed with the beginning of the 20th century. A vocation preserved till this day even if a sizeable part of the population now works out of the municipality limits. In 2013, 372 residents lived in Kinnear's Mills.
History of churches (4.31 Mo)
Erection of the Municipality of the Township of Leeds on August 14, 1802.
Dismemberment of part of the Township of Leeds for the creation of the Municipality of St-Jacques-de-Leeds on October 20, 1882 and another dismemberment of the Municipality of the Township of Leeds for the creation of the Municipality of St-Jean-de-Brébeuf on September 22, 1945.
The name of the Municipality of the Township of Leeds was changed on October 30, 1982 to that of the Municipality of Kinnear's Mills.